Isaiah 43:19: See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.

There has never been a time like this in the history of Japan. God is certainly doing “a new thing” in this beautiful land of 日本. He is calling many around the world to be a part of His master plan of redemption. Perhaps you sense that God is calling you to serve in Japan short-term or long-term, to spend and be spent. What a privilege this is! A missionary who recently moved to Ishinomaki (in the disaster zone) said that “he sensed that God was not commanding their family to move up there, but rather inviting them. There is the promise of a great harvest – the invitation is to be a participant in it.”

For my husband and I, it brings us tremendous joy to be making plans to work in Tohoku during this unprecedented time in the history of Japan. Our hearts are already there, ready to go and serve. We long to be part of the harvest and are thankful for the opportunity to join hands with many other believers already working in Tohoku. It is very hard to wait! As I write this, lines from Frank Sinatra’s “New York, New York” ring in my head: “Start spreading the news. I’m leaving today! I want to be a part of it, Tohoku, Tohoku!”

If your heart is still open to going anywhere in Japan, would you please consider going to Tohoku? The needs there are so great and the hearts of the people are open. Another missionary family moving to Ishinomaki writes in their newsletter, “Our vision is not just to help with the physical needs there, but also to see people and communities transformed through the power of the Gospel lived out through our incarnational witness. We are more hopeful than we have ever been that God will bring about revival in Japan through the lives and testimonies of the victims.” We agree wholeheartedly!

Whether it’s Tohoku, Tokyo, Nagoya, or Osaka, please do come and be a part of it! Come and lay down your life in Japan. As we serve, may we all have the attitude of David Brainerd: “I cared not where or how I lived, or what hardships I went through, so that I could gain souls for Christ. While I was asleep, I dreamed of these things, and when I awoke, the first thing I thought of was this great work.”

A car atop a building in Minamisanriku

Ships like this were carried miles inland by the tsunami waves in Ishinomaki

